Thursday, February 26, 2009

Retribution Gospel Choir at Stage Door at The Orpheum Theatre

March 6, 2009; 8PM

Songwriter Alan Sparhawk (guitar and vocals) leads an indie rock outfit from Duluth, Minnesota call Low. However, those of you familiar with (or fans of) Low will be in for a bit of a surprise. [READ MORE]

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

New Beatles outtake discovered?

New Beatles outtake discovered?
by Steve Guttenberg

Britain's NME reported on Monday that unreleased Beatles material has surfaced online. An audio-only YouTube video, right, is claiming to be an unreleased take of the song "Revolution." It's take 20, and it starts out sounding like "Revolution 1" from the band's "White Album."

The 10-minute, 47-second running time is 7 minutes longer than "Revolution 1," though after some in-studio chatter by The Beatles, what you hear sounds awfully familiar. It's much like "Revolution 1," but then it breaks into freak-out noise and backward loops, similar to "Revolution 9," also from the "White Album."

That said, I think that "9" is way more interesting and creative.

I think that the video is a hoax. It seems like work of a fan who manipulated various Beatles songs' bits and pieces, and assembled the freak-out portion of "take 20." Yes, you can clearly hear the recording engineer, probably Geoff Emerick, announce "take 20," but I think that the freak-out section is fake. Still, there are bits of John Lennon vamping and screaming his guts out that I've never heard before.

What do you think?

Saturday, February 07, 2009

Dan Auerbach solo debut - Keep It Hid

The Black Keys are known and loved for their “two-man stomp,” as Dan Auerbach calls it. But on his solo debut, Keep It Hid (due out Feb 10 on Nonesuch), Dan is taking a different approach - working with a full band and tackling a wide variety of instruments himself.
“I just wanted to do the things I loved.” For Auerbach, that means combining elements of bluegrass a la the Stanley Brothers, mournful country balladry, Memphis-style R&B, fuzzed-out psychedelic rock and low-down blues on this collection of 14 original tunes, which Auerbach self produced and recorded with friends and family at his newly built studio, Akron Analog. “It’s all just soul music.”
Here's a cool video of Dan and his uncle, James Quine playing “Trouble Weighs a Ton” - the first track on Keep It Hid - in the new studio.

It was Dan’s uncle, who taught him how to sing and play guitar. The first 2 songs that Uncle James taught him were “Peggy Day” (Dylan) & “Single Girl, Married Girl” (Carter Family tune – he learned the Stanley Brothers version.)

Hacienda - out of Austin TX - will be Dan’s backing band on his upcoming tour.

DAN AUERBACH ON TOUR will roll through our area on
Mar 6 - Metro - Chicago
Mar 7 - First Avenue - Minneapolis

Catch him if you can. You won't be disappointed...

Tuesday, February 03, 2009

New Felice Brothers Album - Due April 7th, 2009

- YONDER IS THE CLOCK (Release Date: April 7, 2009 on TeamLove)

1. The Big Surprise
2. Penn Station
3. Buried In Ice
4. Chicken Wire
5. Ambulance Man
6. Sailor Song
7. Katie Dear
8. Run Chicken Run
9. All When We Were Young
10. Boy from Lawrence County
11. Memphis Flu
12. Cooperstown
13. Rise and Shine

I cannot wait for this one to drop. Looking forward to seeing them come through Madison again...maybe with Old Crow Medicine Show. -fS